Historic Honeysuckle Hill c.1820 This extraordinary historic home has been beautifully restored & renovated. Located close to Washington, DC & Baltimore in a private setting backing to parkland, this unique buying opportunity features gardens, spacious deck with hot tub, gazebo, detached garage, barn, gourmet kitchen with fireplace, gorgeous master suite with elevated ceiling, spacious master bathroom, dressing room, study & much more. A unique blend of modern amenities and historic detailing, this is a home of rare and beautiful distinction. *Adjoining 2 acres available - zoned RE2, perked & well.
This home is 19th century; it was built by John Jones and his family about 1820. John Jones married a neighbor, Anne Smith Waters, and they had at least ten children. The home later passed down to John Jone's son Richard. After Richard's death, the grown children who remained on the farm were: Priscilla, Margaret, Somerset, Sarah Emma, and her husband Capt. Reuben Riggs. Emma, who didn't marry until her seventies, was the youngest of John Jonest children. She was famous for her butter that was sold to the well-to-do in Washington, D.C. Her husband Reuben, who was a widower at the time of their marriage, was often referred to as Mr. Jones. Emma lived there until her death in 1929, and was the last to be buried in the Jones family graveyard by their home. In the years that followed, the home remained vacant for some eleven years and then became a tenant farm. During this time, hogs were kept in the parlor and chickens in an upstairs bedroom. An annex was added about 1950. (Ardith Gunderman Boggs) more history
This community of Goshen, originally part of Saint Mary's County and Prince Georges County, became Frederick County in 1748, and in 1776 became Montgomery County. In 1743, a land grant, consisting of Benjamin's Square and Land of Goshen, was deeded to Benjamin Wallingford. At this time log cabins were scattered here and there, housing the early settlers. Sometime after 1737, the Pigman family bought quantities of land and started several mills. By 1790, records indicated two mills, a copper mine, mill dams and races, and a log cabin used for a mill store on property referred to as Pigman's Purchase. This valley was indeed the land of milk and honey; fertile, just perfect for growing tobacco and corn. Early in the 1800's attention was turned to growing wheat. A system of high hills known as Parr's Ridge crosses the county diagonally. These hills and plateaus are separated by streams and creeks that water the territory abundantly. Seneca Creek is fed by numerous tributaries bordering Parr's Ridge, which is separated from the headwaters of the Patuxent River by a barrier of slate that curves from Damascus to Laytonsville and beyond. One of these tributaries is the Goshen Branch, sometimes referred to as Little Seneca, Magruder Creek or Riggs Creek. It is on this creek, along Goshen Road (now Brink), where the mills were built that became the backbone of the early farming community of "Goshen Mills'. By 1845, the name was simply "Goshen." (Ardith Gunderman Boggs) more history